Home Not logged in.      Log In        My Downloads

Talent Music Publishers

Cascade Mountain Suite

This original piece is based on the memories of the composer’s visit to the Cascade mountain range as a young Sailor on liberty from his ship moored in Tacoma, Washington.  The piece is written in three movements:  1. The Skagit’s,  2. Lake Helen, and  3. Bridge of the Gods.  There are many elements in this piece that will challenge the Brass band.  There are syncopated sections, multiple meter changes and exposed section soli.  There is some atonality in the third movement.

Category:  British Brass Band,
Composer:  Dr. Jorge E. Garcia

Price:  $60.00

Performance Notes: 

Each movement of this suite can be performed by itself or any combination of movements can be done.  The third movement would be appropriate for contest performance since it is challenging.  Two popular hymns, "Be Thou My Vision" and "All Creatures of my God and King" are melded together with the main theme in the third movement.  At the end of the first movement, the majority of the band is to blow non-vibrated air through their horns in glissando fashion to emulate the wind blowing through the mountain tops.  The Tuba players will appreciate the exposed sections in the second movement.  The final movement is very challenging with atonalism, complex meters, and a wonderful recapitulation of the first movement theme followed by a rhythmically difficult bridge.  The final theme brings in the hymn tunes of "Slane" and "All Creatures of our God and King."  This movement, as well as the entire piece, are well worth the effort.

Click to view sample Score Performance Level:  Sections 3 - 4 - 2

Performance Time:  3:56 - 3:21 - 5:40 minutes for a total of 12:21


(idev-DigiShop 5.0 :: modified by Dave's Web Dynamics)